Dara-Abells
Dr. Dara Abells

Credentials: MD, CCFP, MScCH
University of Ottawa: Medical Doctorate (MD)
University of Toronto for Family Medicine training, certified through Canadian College of Family Physicians (CCFP)
University of Toronto: Master of Science in Community Health (MScCH) (Health Practitioner Teacher Education stream)

Affiliations:
Member of Canadian College of Family Physicians
Member of Ontario Medical Association
Member of Canadian Medical Association
Member of College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario
Member of Physicians of Ontario Neurodevelopmental Advocacy (PONDA)

Other Pertinent training outside of your credential:
Post-graduate enhanced skills year (PGY-3) in developmental disabilities through University of Toronto Department of Family and Community Medicine

Career Highlights:
Chief resident during Family Medicine training
Multiple publications related to primary care of individuals with IDD
Presenting at national Family Medicine Forum on Transitions for individuals with IDD
Acting for an educational video related to teaching group home staff how to advocate for individuals with IDD during their doctor visits

Years of Experience (in general): Approximately 10 years
Length of Time with ISAND: 3 years (with time off for maternity leave, so maybe 2 years)

Position at ISAND: Family Physician with Special Interest in Developmental Disabilities

Any areas of Specialization:
Transition-aged care
Medical education

Professional Accomplishments (at least one):
Master’s degree
1st Family Medicine PGY-3 to do self-directed fellowship in developmental disabilities through University of Toronto
Medical teaching, especially to Family Medicine Residents, about primary care of individuals with IDD and other topics related to care of this population

What brought you to ISAND:
An elective during my fellowship training and ongoing communication with the developmental pediatricians since then

What do you really like about ISAND:
The collaborative team environment
Friendly, helpful, warm and kind staff and professionals

A little bit about who you are outside of ISAND – hobbies and interests
A mother of 1 son and soon to be second child
Spending time with family and friends
Cooking/baking
Water-skiing, swimming and other sports
Medical education and other teaching opportunities

Subscribe to newsletter